The Lemon Life · Uncategorized

Lemon Life.

We’ve all heard the saying, “when life gives you lemons” and yes, of course, “make lemonade.” Lemonade cannot always be made with those lemons though! Ya see, I get all the lemons, but I don’t always get the sugar with it; that leaves things a little sour.

Have you ever heard of the term “sour puss?” That person that is never happy about anything, the one who, no matter how much positivity you show, always sees the negative. You could throw  15 different solutions out, and they will make an excuse for why every single one wouldn’t or couldn’t work. This person is somewhat draining to be around, because, let’s just face it, it’s annoying.

I’ll admit, I’ve been that person. Sometimes things are just kinda sucky, everything hits all at once, and you just can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. Sometimes it is hard to be positive when your surrounded by negative.  we’ve all been there. And at some point and time we’ve all had to deal with this person.

I’ve wracked my brain trying to figure out how to solve a problem  that seemingly has no answer. Even when things do go smoothly, and you can make your lemonade,  it’s almost as if you can’t enjoy it,  because you are just waiting for the next set of  lemons. This my friends, is what I call the lemon life.

In my 23 years I’ve been blessed enough to live I’ve learned two things: 1) the world doesn’t stop turning because you can’t make your lemonade and 2) the lemon industry isn’t in the business of being fair. Life is more along the lines of a sour Sour Patch Kid candy- first it’s sour, then its sweet. And sometimes you get the sweet and sour together, that’s when you get your lemonade.  Regardless which, The sweet is never as sweet without the sour.

In order to enjoy good times, we have to understand how bad times feel. Sometimes IT IS  hard to be positive, no matter who you are. But even the simple fact that we are alive is a positive thought. Maybe you have to start small by making a goal to find a number of Positive things that happened in a day. Or make a list of all the things that come to the top of your head that you’re happy to have. As I’ve dealt with being stuck in a sour phase, I’ve tried to create ways to help me see past the negative. When we only focus on the bad, we don’t have our eyes open to witness the good.

 

I want to make it my personal mission to start being more positive; Finding thankfulness in the smaller things that go unnoticed. Feeling  happiness in non materialistic thing. I want to enjoy the view around me and take in the beauty that is right in front of me.

Do do you feel like your stuck in a sour phase or  living the lemon life? I encourage you to look past the bitterness and see the beauty.

 

Leave a Reply

